Local Governments Participating in Alabama “Back to School” Sales Tax Holiday

MOBILE, Ala. (WKRG) – The start of the new school year is only a month away and the Alabama Department of Revenue released a list of local municipalities and governments participating in this year’s ‘Back to School’ sales tax holiday.

The holiday which begins at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, July 21 and running until midnight on Sunday, July 23.

In the News Five viewing area of Southwest Alabama, several county governments have already informed officials in Montgomery that they will be participating.  They include the following:

  • Mobile County
  • Baldwin County
  • Conecuh County
  • Monroe County
  • Clarke County

Escambia County is not participating in the sales tax weekend and the state did not list Washington County.

Along with county governments, several municipalities also informed state officials they will be participating. Click on the following link to see the full list.

The holiday means the state, or any participating local government, will not collect a sales tax on covered items for the selected weekend. Covered items include school supplies, electronics, certain clothes, books, and other items.

The ‘Back to School’ sales tax holiday began in 2006 when lawmakers in Montgomery passed an ordinance to change the Code of Alabama 1975. It was originally held on the first weekend in August but later moved to the third full weekend in July.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s